A Brilliant Brighton 10k

November 19, 2019

The 36th Brighton & Hove AC 10k took place on Sunday in near perfect cool and still conditions. Nearly 1800 runners came out to support the iconic seafront race, which is back as a fully club-run event once more.

Brighton Phoenix AC athletes did the double winning the men’s and women’s races, as Beth Kidger in 34:17, comfortably retained her title and Finn McNally, leading from the off, crossed the line in 30:23.

Twenty-six club athletes raced. Tom Eames was the first Brighton & Hove AC athlete home in 16th place, running 32:52.  He was also the top under 20 man on the day. He was followed by Kevin Rojas in 33:12 and Craig Halsey in 34:01. Dave Benton was second M50 in a swift 36:15. Linda Schofield was our first woman home clocking 37:56 for third in the W45 category, the same position taken by Tom Ulliott, in the M60 age group in a time of 42:08. Lois Dooley in her first ever 10k was second U20 woman with 40:11. Every single club athlete finished within the hour.

We thank the many volunteers and helpers, including some of the youngest club members, who came out to lend a hand on the day. Race Manager Keith Donno (pictured in orange) and his wife Vicky worked tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure the race went ahead this year. It could not have happened without their amazing efforts.

It was three years ago that the 10k was cancelled due to dangerously high winds. We hope that going forwards the numbers will increase back to the 4000 entries we had in the past. Please save the date for next year – Sunday 15th November 2020– and pledge to either run or help out on the day.

B&H AC results

Thomas Eames U20M  32:52 1st U20M
Kevin Rojas MSEN  33:12
Craig Halsey M40  34:01 4th M40
Matthew Bristow M40  34:40 6th M40
Paul Howard MSEN  34:41
Jamie Crawford MSEN  35:04
Louis Taub M40  35:34 11th M40
David Benton M50  36:15 2nd M50
Jonny Dale M40  37:37
Alex Rawlinson MSEN  37:44
Linda Schofield F45  37:56 3rd W45
Halvor Haugan MSEN  38:52
Adam Lowry-Smith MSEN  39:03
Freya Leyman F35  39:16
Lois Dooley U20W  40:11 2nd U20W
Sean Gibson M55  41:25
Paula Blackledge F45  41:29 4th W45
Paul Bristow M50  41:49
Tom Ulliott M60  42:08 3rd M60
Cathy Ulliott F55  42:22 4th W55
Becky Owen FSEN  43:12
Steven Lowry-Smith M50  44:23
Neil Dermott M60  44:49
Henry Speight M50 49:55
Taline Halpern F45 50:23
Simon Hodges M50 59:05

View the full results here: https://results.sporthive.com/events/6592352123175226880/races/469081